Why I went Gluten Free?

A lot of people are going gluten free these days. Some people go gluten free for medical reasons, mostly being a diagnosis of celiac disease, some to lose weight. Let’s get one thing straight: a gluten free diet alone will not help you lose weight. A calorie is still a calorie whether it is from corn, rice, wheat, oat, or whatever kind of grain you can think of. In order to lose weight, you must burn more calories than you take in but that is an entirely different subject so let’s get back on topic here.

I myself have had a medical diagnosis over the years including but not limited to: gastroesophageal reflux disease, gallbladder disease, and irritable bowel syndrome. After taking multiple medications, having multiple blood tests, procedures, and all that jazz, I left the doctor’s office with a prescription for a cholesterol lowering medication to stop diarrhea because they said I had “post cholecystectomy diarrhea,” (sorry to be so blunt) and a prescription for antidepressants. Hello! What is causing all of this?????? Needless to say, I never took these medications. My cholesterol is fine (hello I’m an active 23 year old) and I’m not depressed (my life is perfect, just kidding but you get the picture).

About six months later, I couldn’t take it anymore. I had to find help for these debilitating symptoms of alternating diarrhea, heartburn, nausea, etc….I sought out a natural doctor with the help of a friend who had great results for her troubles. The natural doctor was able to find that I had a parasite, H. pylori infection, bacterial imbalance, and gluten + dairy sensitivities. My husband and I both were a bit questionable as to whether or not all of the given supplements and prescribed diet was going to help. I found out a few months later, seeing this doctor had completely healed my gut!

No, insurance did not pay for this. I had to pay out of pocket. Do I regret it? No. Is it scientifically based practice? Not completely. Did it work? Yes.

The GI doctors were never able to diagnose me with celiac disease, but after getting rid of the parasite, H. pylori infection, and balancing the good bacteria in my gut, I still could not be symptom free without avoiding gluten (but I’m fine with oats now) in my diet as well. After avoiding it for a period of six months, I am no longer lactose intolerant either so I can finally have my favorite food group again: ICE CREAM dairy. I’m not saying that GI doctors don’t know what they are doing. Many of them treat serious issues such as crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis everyday but for many IBS patients, they are told it is a diagnosis of exclusion and all other possibilities must be ruled out first then given silly prescriptions. Taking medication to treat symptoms is not always the answer. Sometimes you have to find the cause of your problems.

So my advice to anyone suffering from IBS is to first and foremost find the cause of your problem. No I’m not saying find a natural doctor and go there immediately because it is quite costly. I do recommend trying elimination diets. Cut out all offenders from your diet for six weeks such as gluten, dairy, soy, egg, and peanuts; then slowly add them back in one by one to look for symptoms. If you can’t cut them all out at one time, try just doing one at a time for 3 to 4 weeks to see how you feel. I also recommend this book: What your Doctor may not tell you about IBS?

http://www.amazon.com/What-Your-Doctor-Tell-About/dp/0446690910

The author is a Medical Doctor, Richard Ash. I always like to read books by authors with actual credentials. This lets me know they are qualified!

So here is to you on your journey for an IBS free life. Keep a mind of health to recognize the possibilities that you may not even realize are out there. I’m sure glad I did!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie Wallace
    Sep 29, 2010 @ 15:24:40

    Ashley,

    I think more and more people are realizing they can’t put all of their faith into one person- even though they may hold high credentials- they are still human and science isn’t as evolved as many may believe. It’s important to be your own health advocate, research for yourself, and then be persistent and honest when speaking to your health practitioners.

    With that said, credentials help! Anyone and everyone can write and post on the web without backing up what they say.

    Elimination diet? Hmmm I wonder where you got the idea to try one of those? Definitely a useful tool and even more so, in my opinion, when accompanied by a journal that not only lists what you eat but other symptoms – an overall health journal that you can take to all practitioners so they can see the ‘full picture’ of your health. Mood can be a symptom of poor diet so including negative feelings in your health journal is just as important!

    Great post! I look forward to many more!

    Reply

    • ash307
      Sep 29, 2010 @ 15:54:38

      Thanks for the comment Julie! Yes I forgot I even tried an elimination diet before I seen the natural doctor with your help my dear! See, I was very sick at that time!

      And yes you’re right…anyone can write a post on the web without backing up what they say. The intentions of this blog are to share my own personal life experiences, recipes, and just everyday life. Sorry if that was not clear! I’ve added a disclaimer to the side bar.

      Reply

  2. satschuck
    Sep 29, 2010 @ 19:37:53

    Check out the The Discerning Kitchen http://thediscerningkitchen.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  3. satschuck
    Sep 29, 2010 @ 19:39:43

    {I’m one of those horrible people that pushed POST too soon. } The Discerning Kitchen is written by a woman who has had to drastically alter and re-alter her diet over the years due to health reasons.

    Reply

    • ash307
      Sep 29, 2010 @ 21:54:05

      Thats ok! Thanks for the link. A lot of the recipes look amazing! I’ve been at a point where I didn’t eat dairy, gluten, soy, or peanuts and it was hard! I’m glad the only thing I have to avoid now is gluten. It is possible to be free of all of those items though and if it makes you feel better, it is well worth it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

