My Favorite Muffin

My Favorite Muffin

I love to bake! Spice muffins are just perfect for a fall breakfast or snack. and out of all the muffins I’ve made and ever tasted including blueberry, blueberry banana, carrot cake, banana nut bread, apple and brown sugar, raspberry, apple bran, cinnamon streusel, my favorite by far are Pumpkin Ginger Date Muffins! I got this recipe out of an insert that came with a Denise Austin DVD.

I bake them every fall. Ok I bake it a few times a year whether it is fall or not! My whole family loves this recipe as well. The muffins freeze well so you can be completely out of breakfast foods but then open your freezer to see this scrumptious concoction waiting on you. I promise you will be happier than a deer on the day after the closing of deer hunting season. Just kidding. (That’s for you Will)

A few ways to enjoy these muffins:

  • Plain!
  • With coffee or an espresso beverage
  • With cream cheese
  • With almond butter
  • With pumpkin butter
  • With almond and pumpkin butter
  • With a glass of milk
  • Crumbled over Greek yogurt

Ok I will not keep you waiting any longer! Here is the recipe:

Adapted from Denise Austin’s Personal Training System Diet and Recipe Booklet

Pumpkin Muffins

1 cup gluten free brown rice flour or regular all purpose flour
3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 1/4 tsp ground ginger
1 cup gluten free corn flakes, cheerios, or any plain cereal (or bran if not gluten free)
2/3 cup chopped dates
1/3 cup chopped walnuts
1 1/4 cups canned pure pumpkin
3/4 cup skim milk
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup canola oil
1 large egg

Preheat oven to 400F. Spray a 12 cup muffin pan with non-stick cooking spray.

In medium bowl, mix flour, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, baking powder, and ginger. Stir in dates, cereal, and walnuts.

In large bowl, mix pumpkin, milk, brown sugar, oil, and egg. Add the flour mixture to this mixture by folding in.

Bake for 17 to 20 min or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. I usually get about 18 muffins out of this recipe because I make them smaller but you could just make 12 larger muffins.

Ok I am off to enjoy a muffin! Are you?

Leave a Reply

